Learn English
in a British Family
by the Sea!

Small Group English Language Courses for Teenagers

At Kingsdown House we are passionate about small group learning to help you achieve your best in English.

We will make sure you enjoy an exciting stay on the coast, where you will be safe and happy, in a caring English family environment.

Course OverviewCourse Overview

Course Overview

You will be in learning in a small group of around 6 students in the mornings. Anita, your teacher, has over 15 years of experience teaching English; and has worked for many years as a specialist speech and language therapist.

  • 30+ hours of English tuition
  • Students aged from 12 to 18 years
  • Stays of two weeks throughout the year
  • Language-rich activities and trips
  • Courses tailored to students’ requirements
  • Students assessed on arrival
  • Certificate of achievement at the end of the course
  • Opportunities to learn about British culture and heritage
  • Full board with delicious traditional British food
  • Groups of mature learners – please enquire for details
Full CourseFull Course

The Course

Your tutor is a highly specialist language teacher with experience of over 15 years teaching.

The English course at Kingsdown House will enable you to make significant improvement in all aspects of language and communication.

The small class size of usually 4 – 7 students, enables each learner to make maximum progress.

We assess you on arrival to find the areas where you need most help. We then tailor the teaching materials and lessons to the individual and to their preferences.

  • Expand your vocabulary
  • Improve your grammar, especially verb tenses
  • Practise writing and spelling
  • Work on pronunciation
  • Opportunities to speak and listen to English
  • Conversations with the family during the day
  • 30+ hours of English tuition
Weekday Programme
08:00 – 09:00 Breakfast
09:00 – 12:30 Tuition (Four lessons)
13:00 – 14:00 Lunch (Light meal + fruit)
14:00 – 18:00 Trips/sports/activities
18:00 – 19:00 Evening meal (Homemade & locally sourced where possible)
19:00 – 22:00 Trips/sports/activities
Saturday Programme
08:00 – Evening Trip to London
Sunday Programme
Morning

Afternoon

Free time

Trip to a place of interest

Hello, I’m Anita Branton, I would like to welcome you to Kingsdown House. If you have any questions you are always welcome to contact me directly.

Where is the School?

Ramsgate

It is a sunny seaside town situated in East Kent with wonderful sandy beaches and a beautiful Royal Harbour. There is a lot to do and see with something to suit everyone.

Very close to London

Within an hour’s reach of London, it is perfect for exciting excursions, enabling you to experience the best this world-class city has to offer.

Trips & Activities

We have an amazing programme of trips, sports & activities.

Testimonials

See what previous students and parents have said…

We felt completely at home because you treated us as lovely and kind as we were a family.

Wiebke, 15

We would like to stay here for a longer time. We had a lot of fun to cook the meals and they were always tasty.

Emma, 14

Learning with you seemed to be so easy and it was incredible to notice how everyone was getting better from day to day.

Viola, 16

We had lots of fun and the programme was very interesting and included all our desires.

Lisa, 15

The activities were great, especially the trips to London were amazing.

Franziska, 15

These two weeks were one of the best experiences of my entire life.

Lisa, 16

We will tell our friends about you and the perfect time we had here in Ramsgate

Lauren, 13

She really loved her stay with you: the house, the food, the lesson, you and your family, the other girls, everything!

Ann, parent

I want to say how much Antonia enjoyed the stay at yours, how much she learned, and how much she spoke of all the great experiences she made. Everything sounded so wonderful.

Parent

Thank you that you filled Lasse with enthusiasm for Britain and the English language. Thank you!

Jutta, parent

She was especially impressed with your English teaching. She showed me the workbooks and she's is convinced that she learned more in two weeks with you than in two years at school!!!

Parent

Your Stay

The House

A charming 200-year-old house on the coast. There is a sitting room for relaxing and watching films in the evenings. A separate building in the garden is used as a classroom.

Bedrooms

The student bedrooms are spread across the three floors. The twin rooms are shared with sinks and have easy access to bathrooms.

Accommodation FAQs

Food

Full board with delicious traditional British food. We are able to cater to students’ food requirements. Please contact us for more details.

Facilities

Free Wi-Fi access
6.30am – 11.00pm

Washing service
available on request.

Getting Here

Most people come to us by plane, others by train, ferry or car. You can take a taxi or train from any of the London airports.

Travel FAQsGetting Here page

FAQ

If you have questions please check out our frequently asked questions page or contact us directly.

See FAQs Booking FAQs

Course Dates / Fees

2016 – £1360

2 Week Programme – (30+ hours tuition)

October

  • Sunday 09.10.2016 – Saturday 22.10.2016

2017 – £1390

2 Week Programmes – (30+ hours tuition)

February

  • Sunday 19.02.2017 – Saturday 04.03.2017

March

  • Sunday 05.03.2017 – Saturday 18.03.2017
  • Sunday 19.03.2017 – Saturday 01.04.2017

April

  • Sunday 02.04.2017 – Saturday 15.04.2017
  • Sunday 09.04.2017 – Saturday 22.04.2017
  • Sunday 23.04.2017 – Saturday 06.05.2017

May

  • Sunday 07.05.2017 – Saturday 20.05.2017
  • Sunday 21.05.2017 – Saturday 03.06.2017

June

  • Sunday 04.06.2017 – Saturday 17.06.2017
  • Sunday 18.06.2017 – Saturday 01.07.2017

July

  • Sunday 02.07.2017 – Saturday 15.07.2017
  • Sunday 16.07.2017 – Saturday 29.07.2017

August

  • Sunday 30.07.2017 – Saturday 12.08.2017
  • Sunday 13.08.2017 – Saturday 26.08.2017

September

  • Sunday 27.08.2017 – Saturday 09.09.2017
  • Sunday 10.09.2017 – Saturday 23.09.2017
  • Sunday 24.09.2017 – Saturday 07.10.2017

October

  • Sunday 08.10.2017 – Saturday 21.10.2017

Contact Us

Email us for more information and booking a place.

We have experienced some problems with our previous email form over the last few weeks.

If you have not received a reply, please email or call Anita directly on +44 (0)789 0317 940. Thank you.

Host Tutor: Mrs Anita Branton

Address: Kingsdown House, 17 Albion Road, Ramsgate, Kent, CT11 8DJ, England

Tel: +44 (0)789 0317 940

Member of the English Speaking Union, Dartmouth House, London

Member of the Thanet, East Kent and Dover Chamber of Commerce